Some thoughts after 100 cycles

I'll preface by saying that while ONI is one of my favorite and most-played games, I'm by no means an expert and haven't properly "beat" the base game. That said, here're my impressions from a 100-cycle playthough and my first DLC rocket launch:

General Stuff

Swamp biome is fine, maybe too similar to the standard biome if anything.

I didn't play much with a Forest Biome start in Vanilla, but that seemed like it had more interesting alternative mechanics going on with the trees and Oxyferns as alternate power/oxygen sources. In Swamp, I feel like the Sublimation Stations just feel like Algae Diffusers.

On a related note, the fact that your dupes seem to be stuck breathing exclusively PO2 for awhile feels... off. Like, it seems intuitively like something you should be trying to fix but there's really not much cost to just leaving it for a long while. Polluted Dirt/Mud is so plentiful you don't risk running out (I have like 10 bins of it), so even if your dupes are breathing in more O2 you have it to spare. The only real notable downside seems to be that PO2 causes the Irritation debuff to last longer.

Plug Slugs are a fun idea. As others have pointed out, mass-farming them seems a little tenuous because they eat all your ore. I suppose it makes sense if they are meant to be primarily an early game option.

I like the modular rocket system and the idea behind being able to customize your rocket internals is interesting but obviously still needs some work and is a little confusing at first. Maybe I'm not understanding a mechanic but I couldn't figure out an easy way to use gas canisters to provide oxygen to the cockpit without overpressurizing and causing popped eardrums.

Game Flow