Help with coding a custom crockpot-like prefab?

Hey people, I'm new with modding this game and wanted to spice up a bit the game adding a lot of cooking-related stations.

I'd like to code a custom prefab that can cook from a table of recipes, just like the crock pot. I did try and dig a bit around in my mods folder to see how it's done, but got no good examples. Can someone give me some pointers? Thanks in advance!

For a bit of more specific questions, I don't understand what a component is, how to set one properly, and whch functions are essential for it to work. (Also how to set flags like finished cooking, or full, or empty, and set the corresponding animations)

In the game's code, it's actually called a cookpot. I've just came back from a break of DST modding, and I need to get back into the swing of things.

Anyways, you should be able to just copy cookpot.lua in what ever your new crockpot name is.lua. You would need to replace the return Prefab at the end, to change it to your item, but then is should work.(?)

Ah, okay, makes sense!

I see that I was massively overcomplicating things; I didn't realize the crock pot code was this flexible.

Thanks a lot!

Ah, one more thing: say I want to modify a cooking/crock pot/component function (I'm thinking right now in overriding CalculateRecipe from cooking.lua)

I read in a tutorial once that the way to do this is to get the old function. and then run it as a failsafe, but where do I put the code? Modmain? (And also how to I name it so it actually overrides the desired function?)

For example, I might want to change the checks for recipes to redirect to the right table (as the game stores all its recipes in a big table) and for stuff like empty spaces on the widget (say corn, empty space, empty space, empty space is a recipe now, it would clash with recipes without empy spaces in priority)

Or I might want to return extra parameters for aiding in more complex recipes.