[Help] Script to make character stronger with specific weapon.

I'm trying to make my modded character have a damage multiplier when equipped with a basic spear. 

I'm pretty new to coding for Don't Starve, and lua in general but my understanding is that in order for the character to have this kind of interaction with an item already in the game, I'll have to add the script to my Modmain.lua and not my prefab character.lua however I've been unsuccessful thus far.

I tried to add this code for a sanity off a tutorial here increase while equipped with a spear to see if I could maybe piggyback off this and change it to something like inst.components.combat.damagemultiplier = 1.25

AddPrefabPostInit("Spear", function(inst)
        if GetPlayer().prefab == "MyCharacter" then
            inst:AddComponent("dapperness")
            inst.components.dapperness.dapperness = TUNING.DAPPERNESS_MED
            inst.components.equippable.dapperness = TUNING.DAPPERNESS_MED
        end
    end) 

However I can't even get that to work. I saw that it might be due to coding for DS working differently than DST which this mod is for. Could someone point me in the right direction?

AddprefabPostInit function procs ONLY ONE TIME - once item is created in the world. 

GetPlayer() doesnt work in DST. 

Here is an approach for adding Health regen to char if he has specific item equiped. 

There is no such a function currently, you will need to make it by yourself.

You will need to track player equiping the item and start a task, if player unequips item you cancel task.

This goes into OnEquip code:

--- 1st we must remove regen task if there is one already so we don't create memory leak

if owner.item_regen_task then

owner.item_regen_task:Cancel()

owner.item_regen_task = nil 

end

---- 2nd add regen

local period = 1

owner.item_regen_task = owner:DoPeriodicTask(period, function()

ownder.components.health:DoDelta(1)

end)

This goes into OnUnEquip code:

---- remove regen