Sleep on World State

Hello!! I should start by saying I’m not entirely well versed with LUA and I’m just starting out.

I’m interested in giving a character a perk of having the chance to fall asleep during rain. The problem is I don’t know if this is even possible and if so, I’m not sure how to go about it.

I currently have written code, although it doesn’t work (of course). I also don’t know whether said code would go in character or modmain.

Here’s the current code I have.

-- Rain Sleep
local function rainsleep(inst, time)
if not inst.watchingrain then
inst.watchingrain = true
inst:WatchWorldState("israining", onisraining)
onisraining(inst, TheWorld.state.israining)
if math.random()<0.1 and onisraining then
     PushEvent("yawn", { grogginess = 8, knockoutduration = time + math.random() })
end
end
end

This is based off mostly from certain posts as well as the mandrake sleep code so... yeah.

Help, coding advice, and explanations are greatly appreciated!

Where is your onisraining function? You refer to it several times, but it is not part of the code snippet. Also, you don't have a "time" variable, although you're using it. There seems to be some confusion about what you're doing.

If you are a complete novice with coding, most of our explanations won't make any sense to you anyway. You should start by looking through the newcomer post and taking the Lua Crash Course linked there. The whole post is littered with good information that will save you time and stress, and help you search the game code faster to figure out how things work.

That said, it looks like you're kind of on the right path. AFAIK that IS the event to push and those are values that will work, but if I'm reading this right, your character will just have a chance to fall asleep at the exact moment the rain starts, but not additional chances during the rain.