Help with In combat auras.

Hey if anyone could help me out with this, I'm very new to programming, this is honestly my first experiences with it but I'm currently trying to figure out how to give a character a temporary Sanity aura while in combat, Preferably exclusive to teammates but if not that's okay too I'd learn this myself if i wasn't completely brand new to programming/coding but  i thought i might as well ask for help while i research this sort of thing.

So to reiterate
I'm trying to give my character a Decently strong sanity aura with a moderate radius, for about 10 seconds after combat begins and preferably affects everyone but him. (also contemplating a Defensive buff exclusive to teammates during this time like a mini Wigfrid passive for anyone around him.)

My best bet on what that might be like is something along the lines of maybe if i were to attack something, it activates it for 10 seconds?

Should there be a cooldown for this aura effect, or should it keep it running for 10 seconds after the battle has ended, or do you have to be out of combat for some time before it can trigger again? Many questions which have a great impact on how this should be implemented.

I was looking for something that stays active until 10 seconds after the battle ends,
So an aura lasting 10 seconds that refreshes on attack without cooldown (So it can refresh)

The sanity buff is something I'll tweak with and play around with so that it does a moderately nice job at promoting fighting alongside this character as opposed to watching on the side without making it so strong that you'd just nullify sanity auras that are supposed to be a big threat i.e deerclops, shadow pieces or fuel weaver.

Great! OK, so you specify that it is specifically on attack that it should refresh. So not on getting attacked or on blocking an attack or on taking damage from something arbitrary. It is whenever YOU attack something, and only then?

On 8/6/2019 at 11:03 AM, Ultroman said: