Tags for existing items

Hi all!
Im new at lua programming, so mb the question will be dumb.
I tried to create a modification which drops items from player's inventory when he is going offline, but not all of them. I need to put off only certain things like eyebrella or walrushat. Firstly I tried to rewrite a mod Empty Inventory by adding "player.components.inventory:DropEverythingWithTag" instead of "player.components.inventory:DropEverything", but then found that there's no tags for each item. And there's question: Can I use AddTag for existing game items inside the mod code? Or is there any another way to drop certain things?

Edited by Triciya

Well, I found the way to create tags untill moderator approved me here :D But there's even more important next question: all whitelists I saw in mods created temporal list of local player numbers instead of external txt list with user KU. How can I create external not temporal whitelist for mod?

Here's a tutorial about writing to a file using Lua. Easiest Google search I've done in a while ;) That said, I don't know if you are allowed to do I/O operations within the context of the game. I kind of doubt it.

So, you've successfully done what you wanted with the drop-when-you-leave-the-server mod? And are now asking how to do a whitelist mod...for what exactly? What is your end goal?

Yeah I saw this tutorial, but actually io doesnt work in game context untill you define local io as a GLOBAL.io. And that I did. But this tutorial isnt exact thing I need. Now Im trying to create external table or array with structure like 
List = {
KU_.... = true
}
where true is a value of dontdrop function for player, and KU is a key. I hope this could allow me to have a permanent WhiteList (for people who won't drop their items) which I can load from the external file every time I reboot my server by using k,v cycle. But something is going wrong :(.