Total Newb Looking for where to start

Hello everyone,

I am totally new to the modding scene of DST and have been looking for a general place to start and have been very unsuccessful.  I have a pretty strong background in C# and am no stranger to doing my due diligence on research.  However, I can't seem to find a solid API reference or file structure etc.. One of my biggest issues is that I am not great at looking at existing mods and dissecting them to find what I am looking for.  

Enough about my sob story and get to the point.  My children and I play the game casually and feel there are a few things that need to be changed.  The first being that we think you should be able to make the blowdart (damage ones) with any feather not just the winter birds feather.  I have tried adding the recipe as some other mods do but it then takes away the original recipe and I can't seem to ad more then just one for the same item.  

I can think of a million other things that I would like to do but this would be a great start.  I would greatly appreciate if someone would be willing to show me where to start so I can start getting my feet wet.  

15 hours ago, Silisiban said:

Hello everyone,

I am totally new to the modding scene of DST and have been looking for a general place to start and have been very unsuccessful.  I have a pretty strong background in C# and am no stranger to doing my due diligence on research.  However, I can't seem to find a solid API reference or file structure etc.. One of my biggest issues is that I am not great at looking at existing mods and dissecting them to find what I am looking for.

My newcomer post is a good place to start :) It has links to some major tutorial and starter-threads, tips for debugging, a few simple example mods, and tips on how to search the forum effectively, as well.