Mod load order issues and solutions

I'm happy to see ONI supporting the steam workshop. I get the feeling of deja vu when I look at the mod system because it seems fairly similar to the mod system in Rimworld and I'm not just thinking of Harmony, which was originally developed for Rimworld. I'm happy because it gives great modding freedom but also concerned because it looks to me like ONI is heading for the same mess as Rimworld when it comes to mods affecting each other and depending on each other.

My background is that I wrote ModCheck for Rimworld. It's a toolkit to make mods load differently depending on which mods are loaded, load order etc and it's able to produce errors if requirements aren't fulfilled. The check for mod load order and dependencies can also be done by Mod Manager, though both mods offers something the other doesn't meaning it's not farfetched to use both. The problem is that the setup is different meaning mods would need to set up for both in order for this to be effective. Also if the player doesn't load either, then the files telling about the requirements will be ignored even if the requirements are violated and we know the game won't work as intended.

Proposals for Oxygen not included

Make the game support mod compatibility and requirements checks. This will make one format for such information and mods will not introduce competing formats. Furthermore if the game refuse mods not containing this information, then all mods will add it. The information should consist of a unique mod name (string) and lists of strings for the following purposes:

• mods, which are required and has to be loaded first
  • mods, which are required and has to be loaded last
  • mods, which has to be loaded first if present
  • mods, which has to be loaded last if present
  • mods, which can't be loaded (contains conflicting data)

First and last are relative to the mod containing those lists, not the mod list in general.