How to make a healing item that also harms sanity?

Hi guys. I've got a character mod that has his own custom healing item. I've realised that by adding the "healer" component, the only option I have is changing the health value. I'd also want this item to harm sanity when used. I know I can make it edible and set the values, but I prefer the 'use healer animation' over the 'eating' animation. To make it clear, I'd like this item to:

1. Heals health when used
  2. Decrease sanity
  3. Play 'healer' animation when used.

I was looking at flowers' script of how it uses DoDelta( ) and was trying to put that into my item's prefab script but failed (Is it because flowers have pickable component while my item doesn't?) I've heard I can create a new component or something but I'm very new to coding and not sure how can I do that. Can anyone help me, or give me a direction? Thank you!

Since the Heal-function of the healer-component is not a local function, you can extend it easily.

-- Save the original function
var old_Heal = inst.components.healer.Heal

inst.components.healer.Heal = function(self, target)
	-- Take sanity from target
	if target.components.sanity then
		target.components.sanity:DoDelta(-5)
	end

-- Take sanity from healer
	if self.inst.components.sanity then
		self.inst.components.sanity:DoDelta(-5)
	end

-- Run the original function
	old_Heal(self, target)
end

@Ultroman

Thanks for your help! And sorry that I'm too dumb to understand it clear.

Do I put these code in the item prefab like this

image.thumb.png.f1222c805f361110707780f61ae097e2.png

Or do I set up a new component 

image.thumb.png.5af0b4b7115dd9a3fae85bb3ff82640c.png

and call the component in the item prefab?

image.png.968820a1281da24a8f89d013e5b0826d.png

I tried for both and got the same error when creating the item. It says  '=' expected near 'old_Heal' , which is the first line of the codes you've provided.

The first version is correct.