Checking for current season

Hello, this is my first time modding for Don't Starve and I'm trying to add an effect to my character's movement speed based on the season. I have looked around and found other modders' success, but I can't seem to understand what I am doing wrong. I have taken to figuring it out by looking through code of other characters that people have made, more specifically a character named Wurbert, a snow man made by "The Tiddler" on the steam workshop.

They have used an if statement like this to detect winter and summer:

if GetSeasonManager():IsWinter() then...

elseif GetSeasonManager():IsSummer() then...

And so I used it for my own: (note: it is in  a "local fn = function(inst)"  and the numbers are exaggerated for testing purposes)

-

if GetSeasonManager():IsWinter() then
      inst.components.locomotor.walkspeed = (TUNING.WILSON_WALK_SPEED * 3)
      inst.components.locomotor.runspeed = (TUNING.WILSON_RUN_SPEED * 3)

elseif GetSeasonManager():IsSummer() then
      inst.components.locomotor.walkspeed = (TUNING.WILSON_WALK_SPEED 0.5)
      inst.components.locomotor.runspeed = (TUNING.WILSON_RUN_SPEED * 0.5)

else
      inst.components.locomotor.walkspeed = (TUNING.WILSON_WALK_SPEED)
      inst.components.locomotor.runspeed = (TUNING.WILSON_RUN_SPEED)

end

-

But the code keeps on crashing Don't Starve when I enable the mod.

Can anyone help?

It is also my first time with lua codding.

Thanks.

First of all, it sounds like you need an introduction to DS/DSTmodding. This post should answer most of the starter questions and help you get truckin'.

Second, we can't really help without the log files, so follow the guide in the post I just linked, to find your log files, and attach them to a reply by dragging the files onto your reply. Also please include a zip of your mod, so we can see what you're doing.