No matter if I save manually or if the game automatically saves the game. If I leave the game and return to the game then I loose all resources. I still have the duplicates and the buildings and all of that, but I loose all food, and anything in storage.
Play game. Quit game through the menu options. Load game back up, or even load a previous date during game play. All resources are gone.