[Code Help] Asymmetrical Character

Newb question here:

This is my first post on these forums. I've played around with DST modding for a little while now and it's quite fun. Now that I've started getting my bearings I wanted to do something a bit more- something that actually requires minor coding so that I can start learning how to code from scratch. I considered doing a mod with an asymmetrical character (or at least a character with an asymmetrical face), and found this thread here:

I didn't want to necro-post the thread, since it was two years old, but it seems that the code doesn't work quite the way I expected it to, particularly in that it doesn't work. I ran into an issue where there was an error at "FRAMES = GLOBAL.FRAMESlocal" when trying to load the mod. I followed the steps as was instructed before altering any of the code, and I still had the error. I have very little experience with lua, but I have some rather ancient experience with VB and I thought it would work roughly the same (or at least give me a footing to start learning). I still can't figure out why it's erroring. Would anyone mind helping me figure it out? As always, please and thank you!

At the time of posting this comment, my original post still hasn't been approved by a moderator, but I'll reply to it anyways.

So I fiddled around with the code, and eventually got it to work (sort of), but I found a different method of coding it that works much better for what I wanted to achieve:

Their are two flaws to this method that I've found.

First, when the character faces left, they are no longer holding their pick in their left hand, but suddenly their right (the arm behind the player). I was wondering if there was a way to force them to use the other hand without messing up the .scml file.

Second, when the player spawns in the world, they begin invisible, and they are invisible on the character select screen.

Update: