Questions about custom character creating for DST

I've been working on a character recently, and I have her art down, but I'm not good at coding. At all. I can load her in the game, I even made her start with a customized weapon, but now I'm completely stuck. 

There are quite a few things I'm trying to code and am failing so badly I can even tell you what I have, and help would be greatly appreciated. I might have been too ambitious for my first character.

First, I can't seem to add in a custom recipe for her sword. I've tried basing it off other mods, looking online, but to no avail. 

Second, I really want her sanity to drain when killing innocent animals and spiders. I would also like spiders to not attack her without being provoked, but for pigs to automatically attack her.

What I think is the last thing I want is for her to be worse off in the heat, but better off in the cold.

I would really appreciate the help! Not being able to do this has been really frustrating me.

• Like 1

Hey PlayPretend,

I might be able to help you out with some of these things. But it's some time since I did them myself so someone might be able to do it better.

If you want to add a custom recipe adding:

AddRecipe("axting", {Ingredient("twigs", 2), Ingredient("flint", 4), Ingredient("goldnugget", 1)}, RECIPETABS.NAME_OF_TAB_YOU_WANT, GLOBAL.TECH.NONE, nil, nil, nil, nil, "CUSTOM_NAME_OF_TAG",  "images/inventoryimages/axting.xml", "axting.tex" )

Paste this into your modmain.lua

- You should change all instances of "axting" with your items file name.

- You can change the recipe by changing ingredient. Ingredient("itemname", amount). You can also add more or less items by adding more or removing Ingredient, seperated by ,

- Change RECIPETABS. could be RECIPETABS.TOOLS for example. Now the item is under tools.

- Change GLOBAL.TECH.NONE if you want it to require prototype.