Combining total player count between overworld and caves

I am extremely new to coding in LUA, and I have been trying to set up a simple mod to prevent people from joining when the server hits a certain amount of players. For example

if #AllPlayers >= 6 then
TheNet:SetAllowIncomingConnections(false)
else
TheNet:SetAllowIncomingConnections(true)
end

This appears to work fine if one of the shards has 6 or more players on it, however if there are 5 players in the caves and 5 in the overworld, it does not seem to work.

Is there some way I would be able to combine the two arrays and then run a check against the combined result? Or alternatively, a way to pull from the total players that are displayed on the server browser? For example, data\scripts\screens\serverlistingscreen.lua has the following function: function ServerListingScreen:IsValidWithFilters(server) which checks server.current_players and server.max_players, however I have not been able to find what is passing the value of server in to that function.

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.

Put

max_players = 6

under [NETWORK] of the settings.ini of your dedicated server.

It's in the folder your server uses to save stuff, maybe it's DoNotStarveTogetherDedicated.

If you still insist on using your code, use

TheNet:GetPlayerCount()

instead of #AllPlayers

Put

max_players = 6

under [NETWORK] of the settings.ini of your dedicated server.

It's in the folder your server uses to save stuff, maybe it's DoNotStarveTogetherDedicated.

If you still insist on using your code, use

TheNet:GetPlayerCount()

instead of #AllPlayers

Great, that looks like exactly the function I need. I'll give that a try when I get home, thanks DarkXero.