Using different runs save data between save files

I've bought the game on GOG so I don't have Steam Cloud. Last night, since there was no way I could use my save data, I decided to start the game from scratch. Thing is, the run went really smooth and wanted to keep playing it in my original save. I've checked the .lua save file but I'm not sure what I should cut and what I shouldn't. If anyone knows anything, I'll be forever thankful :)

Spy on!

I'm not a Lua expert nor familiar with Klei's game engine, but I've seen enough data languages to make some informed guesses about how to do what you want. However, I have never tried to insert new objects into my save file so I have no idea if my advice will actually work. If you try it, make backups of all the files both before and after editing. Also be sure to use an editor that understands Unix line endings (e.g. Notepad++ rather than Notepad).

The first part of the save file is a set of Lua tables, each of which is given a unique numeric ID. The tables are delimited by blank lines, and start with a line like "table = objects [ 0x00000001 ]". Following that, are lines like "table [ key ] = value" where the key is either a number or a quoted string. If the value is of the form "objects [ hexnumber ]" then it is a reference to another table which is defined elsewhere in the file, probably below this table.

Summary:

1) find your save game in the source file

2) extract all the objects that make up the save into a temporary file

3) renumber them

4) insert them into the target file

5) add a new savegame pointer and initializers to the target

Step 1:

In your source file, object 1 will have a line like "table [ "saveSlots" ] = objects [ 0x00000002 ]". Find object #2 or whatever object number this line references. That object is your list of saved games. In that object, there will be an entry like "table [ 1 ] = objects [  0x00000003 ]" (again, your ID numbers may vary).

Step 2: