Second impressions

Hi everyone.

I bought the game way back when it was still called Incognita and enjoyed it very much. Unfortunately, my PC died and my other computer is a Mac so I wasn’t able to play until now when I discovered there finally is a Mac version.

A lot has changed since the early days. I think the game has gotten much harder. In old incognita, I would typically reach level 5-10. Now I keep dying on missions 1-3. I think the main reason for that is the overhauled alarm system and more limited resources like ammo. Also, if I remember correctly, there used to be a chance of guards missing you when shooting. Not anymore.

A few impressions I have:

- the view is a little bit cluttered, even more so than in the early days (I sometimes need to rotate the map a few times to make sure I am getting the situation). I am not a graphics expert so I don’t know how this could be improved but this is my main gripe with the game at the moment. Maybe the ability to rotate the view by any angle would help?

- the game is very hard and unforgiving right from the start. I would prefer some easier missions at the beginning to „get rolling“. Maybe I should try Easy Mode next.

- I like the fact that there is less luck involved now than in the early days. E.g., I know that guards will shoot me down every time they get the chance, but I also know I will hit them every time. It makes the game more tactical than the early days.

- I am torn about the fact that we cannot reload anymore. I have had situations where I have clicked on the wrong tile and it was instant game over (e.g., due to guards noticing me). This happens mostly due to visual clutter (my first point). I think visual clutter + this permanency is not a good combination. Maybe there should be an „undo“ option for only the last move or something...