Can a DST mod export data into a file?

Hello,

I'm new to DST modding and wondering if DST mod can write to external files.

At first, I was searching for a mod that could record character activities so that I could review my play history after I finished the game, like how many woods I collected each day, or when the ancient guardian died. Any kind of activity logging would be enough since then I can post-process the data to aggregate it. But I was out of luck and couldn't find any logging-related mod on the internet.

Then I decided to create one for myself and started learning about DST modding. It wasn't that bad since I was a bit familiar with Lua already. Soon I found out that DST hides the "io" module from the namespace of the mod scripts and I cannot open a file with "io.open". I assume this is on security concern, to prevent malicious mods from freely accessing users' file systems. There are some games where mods can write to a new file (in a limited way) like in factorio. I hope there's a way to do so in DST too.

So my questions are:

1. Is there a mod with a logging feature?

2. Is there a way to write to a custom file from DST mod?

3. Can I modify the game's code (bundled scripts) and forcefully unhide the io module and where should I look?

Any information is much appreciated since I'm digging through the codes cluelessly :/

Thank you in advance.

io is limited only to r/w the game directory and mods directory (this may have been changed)

io.open('xxxx','w'), but not wb/a/a+, etc.

Another way is TheSim:SetPersistentString('name','string') to the save directory.

Thank you for the reply!

I misunderstood the error message, mistakenly thinking that io.open is hidden. I can certainly call the function now.

One more thing though, does SetPersistentString support appending? Since I want to update the log throughout the sessions, it would be better to be able to.