[ANSWERED] Trying to make a simple mod to help me learn modding in DST

I am new to modding and LUA for that matter, but I have quite a bit of experience with programming as a whole (java, C#, python, etc.)

I wanted to try modding DTS and just change some simple things to get started, but I am really struggling to find the resources I need. By trying to pick apart downloaded mods, not many of them are very well commented and I am not really making any progress. I am to the point where I have figured out how to create a mod, create an icon for the mod, and get it to start in game without it crashing (most of the time). Some things I've tried that I found on other posts like "TheNet:SystemMessage("Test Message", false)" straight up crashes my game.

The mod I am trying to create simply checks if the player is "Webber" and when he eats "Monster Meat", he gains health, sanity, and hunger back. For simplicity, let's just say it is 20 of each.

Can someone point out where the documentation is for modding this game? If someone wants to take a shot at making this simple mod, I tend to learn best by reading code, so that would be very helpful to me. Thanks in advance!

Edited by ItsMrEnergy
Questions were answered

I've been at it for a few hours and I have figured out this much:

local function BetterMonsterMeatInit(prefab)
    prefab.components.edible.hungervalue = 20
    prefab.components.edible.healthvalue = 20
    prefab.components.edible.sanityvalue = 20
end
AddPrefabPostInit("monstermeat", BetterMonsterMeatInit)

print("Webber's Monster Feast loaded!") -- testing the make sure the mod is loading by checking the client logs.

This makes monster meat have +20 health, hunger, and sanity. I figured this out by going through the game's source code... which I had no idea I had access to. Still can't find anything online to help me identify what character the player is playing as. Any help would be appreciated. 

5 hours ago, ItsMrEnergy said: