Some tips for someone who just got into DST modding?

Hi, I've recently gotten into making a custom character for Don't Starve Together. I've done the basics like naming, custom sprites, but now comes the long and difficult part of coding. So I wanted to ask for some tips (we could call it essentials).

I'm quite capable of coding, but when I open files from other creators, it just feels like a complete mess to me and I'm not sure what I'm looking for.

So, if some of you were so kind to help me.
Things like, where to put what, what is the "language" of DST (I'm not talking about syntax, but how are events, items and so on called in Dont starve).
Also, what is possible to make? Can you make completely new powers? Custom animations, items, pets, enemies, items,...? Are there pages about this on this forum?

I know I'm probably asking too much too dumbly, but I'm a complete beginner in making mods. It actually feels like an impossible task, so any help would be much appreciated. 

Thank you.

Mods are written in Lua, you probably already know that. There is a lot of different tutorials about a lot of different parts of modding.

For starters look through these posts:

For creating a custom character check out this post:

Getting to know your environment is key to understanding what you're doing. And the best place to get to know that is in the games code. In Don't Starve Together/data/databundles/scripts.zip there is a folder with all the of the games code (aside from the games engine). You can extract that folder onto your desktop or wherever you might want.

Here are the parts I find the most helpful to look through:

scripts/modutil.lua - Contains all of the functions added to the environment

scripts/constants.lua - Contains global variables

scripts/tuning.lua - Contains global variables used mainly as values for mobs

scripts/consolecommands.lua - Contains all of the console commands that you can use in-game