[SOLVED] How to make a character lose sanity over time when hungry?

Hi! I'm pretty new to modding, but I've been making good progress with my first character mod! I was playtesting him, and I wanted to add this feature for balancing purposes.

His basic idea is that he doesn't lose sanity in the dark, since he can see just fine in the dark, but his sanity is naturally very low (100). Whenever he kills a prey animal or consumes raw meat, he loses a lot of sanity. But, on the flip side, consuming raw meat gives much more hunger back than cooked meat. He also gains more sanity from picking flowers, lots more!

I wanted him to be a balancing act with his sanity. But I hardly ever had any difficulty dealing with that, even when I pretty much never cooked any meat. It was just too easy to deal with. So I wanted to make it so that when his hunger level is, say, under 30 points, he loses 1 sanity point every 5 seconds.

Ideally, this should make the raw meat consumption more of a gamble. It will stop his sanity from ticking down continuously, but will still take a toll. It should also make it so there's more of a need to cook meat and build campfires, since he has a normal hunger rate.

However, as you can imagine, I'm having a hard time implementing this mechanic. I've been pouring over the game data and I've found myself overwhelmed with trying to find a way to get this to work. Help would be appreciated!

Edited by PuzzlePeace

there is a common trick with overwriting a function cleanly:

local DoDelta = inst.components.sanity.DoDelta 
inst.components.sanity.DoDelta = function(sanity, delta, ...)
	-- your bit here, for exmaple: 
  	if sanity.inst.components.hunger and delta < 0 then 
    	sanity.inst.components.hunger:DoDelta(delta * TUNING.HUNGER_SANITY_MULTIPLIER_FOR_MY_CUSTOM_CHARACTER)
    end
  	return DoDelta(sanity, delta, ...)
end