Custom Bird Trap failing to load

So I have some experience now with adding and editing content, and thought I'd make a cheap version of the bird trap.  To quickly test this I imported the original bird trap code, renamed the prefab file and inside the code (at the bottom), then added the recipe in the modmain file: 

local cheapbirdtrap = AddRecipe("cheapbirdtrap",{ Ingredient("twigs", 1), Ingredient("cutgrass", 1) }, RECIPETABS.SURVIVAL, TECH.SCIENCE_ONE, nil, nil, nil, nil, "furryeskimo")  --Cheap bird trap.

The game doesn't crash, but the game doesn't seem to recognize this new code.  The recipe is added, but it uses a placeholder image, and attempting to spawn-in the item fails, since the game doesn't recognize the item's name.  Any idea what I've missed?

cheapbirdtrap.lua

Edited by FurryEskimo

This is really basic one but in case you missed it you'll need to add

PrefabFiles = {
	"cheapbirdtrap"
}

in your modmain.lua.

Edit:

And you have to add image and atlas by writing these lines:

inst.components.inventoryitem.atlas = "here_comes_atlas"

inst.components.inventoryitem.image = "here_comes_image"

but I don't know how to set atlas and image for already existing ones...

I guess you have to extract inventoryimages and find bird trap and direct that?

Edited by Combustiblemon
  • Like 1

@Combustiblemon
Thanks a lot!  The item is working now, and just the inventory and crafting images are missing.  I've never extracted image files from the base game before.  I know it's possible, it can be done with most animations after all.  I found an anim file called "birdtrap", maybe that's what I need?

Edit:  So far I've been unable to find the file location where inventory image files are stored.  I could make a version from scratch, I think, but I'd like to find the original.

Edited by FurryEskimo

inventoryimages.tex has every default items' inventory images, including bird trap.