How to read the contents of a chest in order?

I'm looking to make a small server-side-only mod for fun that involves putting things in a chest, sort of like a puzzle, in a certain pattern. I'm new to DST modding and have only a tenuous grasp of Lua, so I still need to learn. Though it seems simple, I'm not sure how I'd go about this, and I couldn't find a relevant example in the API sample mod, so my question is this:

How can I read the contents of a chest, in order (order is important for pattern-making), into an array or list or whatever data structure the game likes to use for such things, whenever a player gets within a certain distance of it while holding a certain item? I know it's a complex question, but I feel like all these things need to sort of tie together. Basically I want the player to be able to put a certain "combination" of things into a chest, then equip an item while standing within a certain distance to cause the mod to detect what's in the chest, in what order, and possibly perform an action if the combination is correct.

I thought maybe looking at the chester script that lets him change phases when he's full of certain items might help, but I'm afraid I don't know where to find that script or if it would apply since it only uses a single ingredient instead of patterns. Any and all help is greatly appreciated, as I am very much a noob. Thank you in advance for your help.

EDIT: After some searching I found in containers.lua what appears to be the code used to decide which items can go in which containers, such as iceboxes that only allow spoilables (this one's for salt box):

function params.saltbox.itemtestfn(container, item, slot)
	return ((item:HasTag("fresh") or item:HasTag("stale") or item:HasTag("spoiled"))
		and item:HasTag("cookable")
		and not item:HasTag("deployable")
		and not item:HasTag("smallcreature")
		and item.replica.health == nil)
		or item:HasTag("saltbox_valid")
end