Fluids and Pressure

I'm a planetary scientist specializing in numerical modeling. I also love games and have designed one of my own. It's not hard to imagine why I enjoy ONI so much! 

One thing I'd love to see changed is how fluid pressure is handled: both in pipes and in the general (ambient) fluid states (liquid and gas). 

Pressure in Pipes: 

The way pipes work is confusing, especially to new players. They behave more like conveyor belts than actual pipes:

• STANDING PIPES: Suppose there's a pipe segment containing a liquid or gas. If the input (e.g. pump) is deconstructed, the fluid stops moving. In the game, I would expect the fluid to keep moving towards the output segment. In reality, I would expect the fluid to leak out both ends. 
  • "BACKFLOW": In ONI, "backflow" occasionally happens as the result of weird bridge/junction interactions. It's all predictable within the ONI system, but it's not physically intuitive. In reality, fluids would fill pipes evenly. 
  • JUNCTIONS: The way ONI splits fluids at a junction is odd. Again, it behaves more like a conveyor system than a physical system. In a physical system, fluid flow would split evenly based on the pressures of each part of the junction and would flow from high to low pressure. Fluids would flow from a higher pressure to a lower pressure -- always. For a two-way fork in ONI, every other package of (e.g.) water in a pipe goes in a different direction. If one output of the junction is full, one would expect the fluid to flow from the "input" to the "non-full output". If pressure in pipes were modelled in ONI, this would happen naturally. (I'm willing to help work out a high-performance algorithm for this.)