Introduction to Replicas

I'm somewhat new to modding DST, and I haven't dealt much with host-client communications yet since I haven't needed to, but I do now so I've been looking at examples and searching through the forums but the way components and their replicas should be made is still not clear to me.

I examined Kzisor's leveler component and its companion exp widget, as well as some standard game components and random things I found in the mods I have installed, but still.

Some use classifieds, some use netvars, some reference the replica in the main component, some don't...I could really use a basic rundown of when you use replicable components as opposed to a regular component added in common_postinit(); when you should use player_classified (and what it even is to begin with); when to use netvars (are the instead of the classified thing?) - and if possible, seeing an example of a simple "Hello world" replicable component would be really great.

Thanks in advance. =)

P.S.
If you're interested in the functional context here, I'm trying to create a "transformer" component to manage all character transformations in my mod.
It's basically a state machine with forms and triggers that activate the transitions between them.
I'd like to give it an AddTransformation() function that lets you define the transitions as well as the trigger, and, for example, I'd like key press to be one of the options.
I really want to encapsulate the entirety of the functionality into the component and its replica.
Ideally, the user would simply write something such as transformer:AddTransformation("justme", "superme", transformer.Triggers.OnKey(SOME_KEY)) where transformer is the component or its replica and it will simply work.
For that end I made registered an RPC call for all transformations that passes along some transformation ID.