Custom Edibility

So, basically, I'm making a personal character mod. I would like for said character (and only the character) to be able eat bone shards to regain health and sanity, but I have no idea how to code it (this is my first time making a mod of any kind). Can I have some help, please?

So, as the mechanic you're describing is very similar to WX78's mechanic of eating gears, I recommend you look at that.

WX78's instance has a line that says:

table.insert(inst.components.eater.foodprefs, "GEARS")

You need to add something like this to the new character, however instead of gears you would add in the ID for bone shards (I believe it's "BONESHARD").

Now you need to add in the edible component for bone shards. The following is the code within the gears' instance that adds this.

inst:AddComponent("edible")
    inst.components.edible.foodtype = "GEARS"
    inst.components.edible.healthvalue = TUNING.HEALING_HUGE
    inst.components.edible.hungervalue = TUNING.CALORIES_HUGE
    inst.components.edible.sanityvalue = TUNING.SANITY_HUGE

So, you need to access the bone shards' instance when your mod loads, and add in the component 'edible'. You will then need to set the values to whatever you want them to be, and this should work.

Hopefully this helps :)

You can actually very easilly add any kind of food stats and edibility to any kind of item in the game.
All you need is to head to your mondmain.lua and add this in it:

GetPlayer = GLOBAL.GetPlayer    
AddPrefabPostInit("boneshard", function(inst)
        if GetPlayer().prefab == "YourCharacterHere" then
            inst.components.edible.foodtype = "NOMS"
            inst.components.edible.healthvalue = 5
            inst.components.edible.sanityvalue = 5
            inst.components.edible.hungervalue = 5
        end
    end)