adding abilitie (leveling up by reading books)

lukasek

Hello there everyone...

I'm trying to make a character mod for DS, and DSSW, with abilitie to kevek up by reading books...

I got most of it done, but i cant figure out how to write script that would allow my character to level up by reading a specific book.

I'm basing my script on wx78 character, and everything works fine when i used original (gear eating) abilitie... But i just cant find a proper combination of functions to make exchange gear eating abilitie/specific food type (gears) to book reading abilitie and reading a book XYZ to work properly...

Does someone got an idea, what should i put in?

-ill only mention that this is my first attempt on modding DS.

regards, lucas 

Parusoid thanks for responding...

Yes i get that. thats exactly what i was trying to do... its putting it itno words... im good at understanding code, and coping and pasteing lines of code, and tweeking values... but writhing my own lines of the code is more tricky and i usually make mistakes which crashes my game...

Could you write an actual line of code that i should put in my lua file... ill take care of the rest...

Thanks in advance

As I mentioned, im using wx78 oneat script. bold lines are the ones needed to be changed. I get that all of gear eating stuff from leveling up paragraph will be removed, since i already have a reader abilitie on.

now you mentioned i need to change oneat function to onread so it'll probably look like this

local function onread (inst, book)

and what then?

if book and inst.components.book == "survivalguide" then ??

because i recall putting something like that in, and it resulted with game crashing when i was turning the mod on...

local function oneat(inst, food)
    if food and food.components.edible and food.components.edible.foodtype == "GEARS" then
        --give an upgrade!
        inst.level = inst.level + 1
        applyupgrades(inst)