Is it possible to gain access to the Preview branch?

Hi there,

My life has become cold and empty as I live without my eagerly awaited access to the Outbreak Upgrade for Oxygen Not Included.

What are the requirements to gain access to the Preview branch for ONI?  Is just asking nicely enough?  If so, can I please have it?

If I need to prove my worthiness, my best credential is that I'm a software engineer and I pride myself on writing actionable bug reports.

Otherwise, I'll just stare at the clock until Thursday gets here.

-Jaqenn

I am dubious they will be adding anyone to for the Outbreak update seeing as it'll be openly available in 4 days.

But the best I can suggest if you are interested in participating in future updates is to contribute regularly to the forums, be constructive, and be helpful.

While I have no idea what they screen for in deciding who to invite for the closed beta, what I have suggested certainly cannot hurt and it makes the whole forum better. :)

10 hours ago, Whispershade said:

While I have no idea what they screen for in deciding who to invite for the closed beta, what I have suggested certainly cannot hurt and it makes the whole forum better. :)

In the invite message I got they said

We have identified you as being a frequent contributor to the Oxygen Not Included forum and we believe you might be interested in helping us. 

So yeah best way is to post a lot, not spam, really discuss ideas in detail and hope they notice you if and when they decide to add more people. You can start by picking a random thread and debating the ideas in it. Do not simply say "me too", give intellectual comments whether you think it would work or not. Maybe even add on your own ideas while explaining how and why it would add to the original idea.