How to Start Coding

So I'm someone who has a o.k understanding of programming languages and wish to make a mod with custom perks. I find that other threads on "mod help" usually just give solutions rather than the processes to get there. As a newbie, I am quite confused looking at these new functions from the game's source codes. I don't know where to find these function's function, or a good place to start on how to understand how items, mobs and characters work. I just need someone to point me to the right direction to appropriate resources. Thank you.     

Yes, usually post give solution, rather than a process. I guess it's mainly because most people are modding with an idea in mind and try to do what is needed to make this idea. At least i know it's how i'm working : i have an idea, and i try to find a way to make it.

And because of this, it's hard for people like me to give advices about where to start, because i don't know where to start : i started with what i wanted to do (a recipe for an item, adding a new resource...), rather than in  a way that is methodical or organized.

And that's how you should start I guess. I think that modding is not an abstract thing and is best to be learnt on concrete things.

If you don't really have an idea of what you want to achieve right now, then maybe the simplest would be to take a random recipe in game and modify it to see how that is done. Then move to do a simple decorative item which has no purpose. Then try to do an equippable item following the tutorial about these. Even if what you will produce is not what you want to do and you will never use it, you will learn how to do these basic things.

Once you have successfully accomplished that, you are ready to do more advanced stuffs and then the forum will look much more helpful.