Need help with sprite overreach

Hi. First off, I apologise for mis- and dis-use of technical terms, I've never done game graphics before. (With that in mind, ELI5 ;) )

I'm trying to fix Afro1967's DST Freezer - specifically, the issue that the mouse prompt will change to open/close well outside the opaque area of the mod's sprite (this is really annoying around crockpots):

As I understand the code, the sprites for opened/closed freezer are in the anim/freezer.zip:

local assets=
{
	Asset("ANIM", "anim/freezer.zip"),
	Asset( "ATLAS", "images/inventoryimages/ui_freezer_3x4.xml"),
	Asset( "IMAGE", "images/inventoryimages/ui_freezer_3x4.tex"),
}

local function onopen(inst)
	inst.AnimState:PlayAnimation("open")
	inst.SoundEmitter:PlaySound("dontstarve/wilson/chest_open")

inst.Light:Enable(true)
end

local function onclose(inst)
	inst.AnimState:PlayAnimation("closed")
	inst.SoundEmitter:PlaySound("dontstarve/wilson/chest_close")
	inst.Light:Enable(false)
end

So I put that into krane -> ktech -> imagemagick to look at the frames' alpha channel. There is a smudge in the lower left, but nothing like the huge area where I get the open/close prompt.

I tried cleaning up the png, using the new version to replace the tex file in freezer zip, but that didn't help (at least not much).

How should I go about fixing this? (Bonus points for mac/linux-compatible tools).

symbol0-1.png

symbol0-2.png

Edited by myxal
Marking solved

I believe the image definetely needs more polishing and possibly could be that it was not quite positioned in the center while doing the anims. I'm not aware that the code has any effect on the onmouse hitboxes, 99% is the png not being competely clean or wrong-positioned spriter anims. 

Well, I ran the animation through krane, cleaned up the images, recompiled with scml (built from Corgi's fork, since Klei's mod tools are a mess), and... the animation is invisible :(