Bug report: Crash when starting a new game / game unplayable

tenfour

Summary: I cannot play the game; when I click "start new game" from the main menu, I see a few seconds of cinematic and the game crashes. I attached a minidump to send to your developers.

Background: I just purchased and installed the game; so far the game is unplayable. I am a software developer so I'll give as much info to help.

Steps to repro:

- Launch the game

- From the main menu, click "Start game"

- Click "Play"

- Cinematic starts; I see about 1 second showing a hand dipping a brush into ink. Then the game crashes: Unhandled exception at 0x002ed179 in game.exe: 0xC0000005: Access violation reading location 0x00000000.

100% reproducible.

I verified that I am running the latest DirectX 11 version. I am on Windows 7 Home Premium, 64-bit. Sony VAIO laptop, Intel graphics card.

I tried changing graphics settings from the settings menu; seemingly nothing here affects the crash.

Minidump: https://dl.dropbox.com/u/4422588/motn.zip

I, too, am having this exact same issue. Some possibly helpful additional information:1) I ran both Steam and the game.exe itself as an Administrator, so that didn't work.2) Restarted Steam, didn't work.3) Uninstalled and reinstalled Mark of the Ninja. And it worked! No, not really. It didn't work either.Anyway, thank you for being so proactive in solving this issue. We really appreciate the support.

While we look into this, can you confirm that your laptop was plugged into the wall when this happened? If not, can you try to play after plugging your laptop in? Thanks!

My laptop was plugged in when I tried to run the game, yes.

Having the same problem. Tried reinstalling with all my Anti-Virus software disabled. Still didn't help. I keep getting a white screen and the message "Mark of the Ninja has stopped working". I also run Windows 7.