[Ideas 'n' such] New Adventure-ish Realm

So! uh... Hi there! :B

I'm a guy fairly passionate about designing games etc, even when it comes to modding games. I have little to no experience though, as I can't actually code anything and always been a bit nervous of asking folks for help :l But um, here I finally am, I was hoping any experienced coders could help me along the way to try modding some things and see where we can go with it.

In any case. I have a few random mod ideas, that focus on a new kinda tiny realm. A realm all about fighting and getting out a soon as possible I think.. Sort of as a mini-adventure mode.

So the mod starts out with this portal spawning somewhere in the normal survival map, much like Maxwell's door.

7j0wP89.jpg

This thing will start your adventure on the new realm. Not sure about the name for the realm, but as you can see on the portal it'll be heavily based upon the chess theme~ Lotsa marble and all that. I don't know what to do with the players inventory.. Should they bring things from the survival world along with them? I was thinking maybe they shouldn't, so that it'll always be the same experience and you can't really prepared yourself. But that means there will have to be survival items like flint etc in this realm. And I was kind of hoping to not have too much of the old worlds items in there. Just to give you a feeling of "my tools and all I know is useless in here" and thus you would have to really, REALLY have to start over and learn to manipulate the new environment within. Tool-less. But that might change completely.

Moving on~ Here's some basic structures I'd imagine spawning in this realm.

ecMM5zQ.jpg

Normal Stone walls, but something new and fancy connecting them. Iron fences. This could be very tricky to code I'd imagine...? To the left you can see one iron fence by itself, not connected to anything. But as they're next to another fence or a Stone wall they'll change texture, as if connected.