Boredhippo

Error when game opens. No mods installed.

ImDaMisterL    21107

Hey @Boredhippo!

It looks like your client.ini is corrupt. Can you remove the [audio] section? Mine looks like this:

[audio]
volume_ambient = 10
volume_sfx = 10
volume_music = 10

Delete those lines and you should be able to run the game. If that doesn't work, try renaming client.ini to client_corrupt.ini and running the game again.

On Windows, your client.ini is located here:

%USERPROFILE%\Documents\Klei\DoNotStarveTogether\

(Hit WindowsKey+R, paste that path, hit enter.)

• Thanks 1

Boredhippo    1

Hi @ImDaMisterL! 

Thanks for your response. I'm sorry but I'm not good at this and am a bit confused. So I have the dontstarve folder open, but from here am not clear what to do next (I tried doing the windowskey+R but I assume that was just to find the dontstarve folder). Once I have the folder open how do I find the audio section? Would you mind just giving me the step by step please :) Thank you

I wanna clarify this is for Don't Starve and not Don't Starve Together

Edited by Boredhippo

ImDaMisterL    21107
1 hour ago, Boredhippo said:

Hi @ImDaMisterL! 

Thanks for your response. I'm sorry but I'm not good at this and am a bit confused. So I have the dontstarve folder open, but from here am not clear what to do next (I tried doing the windowskey+R but I assume that was just to find the dontstarve folder). Once I have the folder open how do I find the audio section? Would you mind just giving me the step by step please :) Thank you

I wanna clarify this is for Don't Starve and not Don't Starve Together

Of course!

Sorry for the mistake, the file you're actually looking for is called "settings.ini"