Code for throwing fireball

I have little to no experience in programming and was hoping for some help with a specific ability for my custom character. I want him to be able to pretty much have the same effect as a fire staff without the need of equipping the staff to do so. I am not sure where any of the code would go either, so I apologize for my high level of ignorance here. Any help at all would be much appreciated.  

EDIT: Having the ability like the Deadpool character mod, where his weapon shoots fireballs in essence, would be great too. 

Edited by neal_b4_me

Without providing code, each character has it's own file that highlights custom functionality,

Where to place my code:

Generally a pointer:

your character should have a named file in there should be a list of functions, try to find "master_postinit".

Code for character functionality is usually stored "server side" so it is included in the "master_postinit" as opposed to "common_postinit" which is both server and client; you don't have to worry too much about this however.

Think of master_postinit as your main function that lets you attach the important functions that work as part of your character.

Components:

Components are usually existing systems of functionality that allow characters to utilise specific pre-existing code structures that reflect abilities or capabilities.

Generalised approach:

First you need to consider how the combat system/component for unarmed combat. Every character shares common features that the player_common.lua file contains, in here you will find the line ":AddComponent("combat")" which I gather deals with unarmed combat based on the line ".combat:SetDefaultDamage(TUNING.UNARMED_DAMAGE)".