Photon's Modding Adventures

Hey all! Newcomer here!

I just found Invisible Inc. earlier this year and immediately fell for it. Maybe I'm getting ahead of myself, but I don't have a problem saying this is my favorite TBS game of all time. The gameplay is just so rich and intelligent. AAAAH.

Anyway, being the tactician that I am, I began to muse about different ways the game could be played and how even more depth could be added to it. However, despite being a programmer by trade, I tend to have an aversion towards trying to understand other people's code. For the hey of it, I decided to start digging into Invisible's scripts this past weekend and, hey, it wasn't nearly as bad as I thought it would be! Klei writes some really nice code. So I thought I'd pop on and share the prototype of my first mod.

--------------------------------------------------------------

Manta Mod 0.1.zip

Little is known about codename "Manta" except for the stories that claim she was once an undercover saboteur for the corps. Even if it were true, she is shackled to them no longer, now working for Invisible for reasons as mysterious as her past.

Besides starting with Lvl. 2 Anarchy and a personalized Buster Chip (read: Buster Chip I with no skill requirement, even though she'd meet it anyway,) her augment is "Atrial Capacitors," a sharp full-body boost that Manta must maintain a strong focus to control:

• Door peeks always have full vision
  • At the start of each turn (except the first one,) gain +3 AP if no attacks were performed on the previous turn

Manta is focused on a more stealth/pacifist style of play. AP bonuses allow her to move quickly while closed door peeks can give her info without compromising her position. Once she's where she wants, she can sabotage mainframe objects with her buster chip. Finally, the starting boost to anarchy means she can steal key items (like security cards) while, again, not alerting her foes.