Algae Reliance & Shower Inefficiency

Hello. I'm a bit new to the game and I've noticed that my colony does well until I start running out of algae. Naturally, I make a water purifier and start trying to convert slime, but the slime to algae conversion rate seems limited and colony members keep stress vomiting into the clean water supply that forms from the water purifier. Any tips on that?

Also, it seems like making a shower system is overly complicated for what it's worth. I'm sure the colony members perform better when they're clean, but finding the amount of water necessary to feed into the shower is one issue and creating the piping is another. It seems like an entire area needs to be dug out just to place piping, which puts a strain on the need for copper that's already being used up by other construction. Any suggestions on speeding that up?

The shower is entirely useless right now.
Takes 45 seconds to do the chore, but dupes can be interrupted and the shower chore can be resumed BY ANYONE.
Once the chore is completed the dupe that finishes it gets clean, for as long as it takes the dupe to reach
that dirt clod and get dirty again.

Thankfully once you have water in the plumbing for shower and toilet you can just loop it back into a water purifier
for a net loss of a small bit of sand. No big deal really.

Setting up a shower and lavatory is actually quite important.
It lowers the amount of decor needed since it gives a bit of stress relief by itself is the first part.
Lavatories produce polluted water, which at the moment is quite important for fertilizer over time (end-game thought), Also a endless supply of clean water if you know how to handle steam.

The piping is fairly easy. Just combine all the intake pipes of the shower and all the outtake pipes, one single pipe is more then enough, not straining the metal requirements in any way.