Trying to figure out SetDiet

K-vo

I'm working on a character that is supposed to be able to eat pretty much anything as their hunger drops VERY fast. I'm wanting to enable all the foodtypes outside of Omni as well but for the life of me I can't get the setdiet and some of the eater settings to work, it either freezes my game when I implement it or doesn't seem to enable. I'm pretty new to Lua, so I'm probably missing something really obvious. Am I correct in thinking that it's supposed to go in the character prefab?

05e9520a1898ae95c56ca947bf0318ed.png

This is what I've got right now.

This code is DST-specific, but your mod is trying to run in DS.

Set the table directly, for example: inst.components.eater.foodprefs = {"GENERIC", "SEEDS", "MEAT", "ETC"}

Also, update the API version as set in modinfo.lua, the current one is 6 for DS and 10 for DST

I've done as you said, and while it's no longer crashing, it seems to be having no effect at all on what the character can eat. It seems to be defaulting to basic omnivore.

I used inst.components.eater.foodprefs = {"GENERIC", "SEEDS", "MEAT", "HORRIBLE", "ELEMENTAL", "INSECT", "VEGGIE", "WOOD"}

As an information this is what was important in the log file:

Spoiler

...data/../mods/wickerman/scripts/prefabs/wickerman.lua:73: variable 'FOODGROUP' is not declared
LUA ERROR stack traceback:
=[C]:-1 in (global) error (C) <-1--1>
E:/SteamLibrary/steamapps/common/dont_starve/data/scripts/strict.lua:23 in () ? (Lua) <21-26>
   t = table: 117FA738
   n = FOODGROUP
E:/SteamLibrary/steamapps/common/dont_starve/data/../mods/wickerman/scripts/prefabs/wickerman.lua:73 in (upvalue) customfn (Lua) <41-86>
   inst = 100030 -  (valid:true)
E:/SteamLibrary/steamapps/common/dont_starve/data/scripts/prefabs/player_common.lua:573 in (field) fn (Lua) <227-577>
   Sim = Sim (0E4CD010)
   inst = 100030 -  (valid:true)