Need help with custom perk: Increased follower time.

whatsherface

Hi there! Thank's for taking a look at my problem. A little background: I'm fairly new to modding. (I've messed around in some of minecraft's code, so I know the bare minimum of actual coding) Don't starve is a new challenge for me. That being said I've created a new character, modified their stats and whatnot. Now I want to add several perks. One being: runs incredibly fast. I've taken care of that. 

Now for the second perk: I want to make it so the followers with them have a longer loyalty time.

inst.components.follower:AddLoyaltyTime(240)

Now with my basic lack of understanding I know this is the basic loyalty time of half a day.  I tried just putting this line in the characters prefab file under

inst.components.locomotor.walkspeed = (6)
inst.components.locomotor.runspeed = (10)

But that didn't work and gave me a Warning 

Untitled.png

TLDR: Trying to increase loyalty time of all followers under a specific character.

Am I on the right track, or completely wrong? I would be so grateful to get a little (or a lot) of help. Thank you!

9 hours ago, whatsherface said:

Hi there! Thank's for taking a look at my problem. A little background: I'm fairly new to modding. (I've messed around in some of minecraft's code, so I know the bare minimum of actual coding) Don't starve is a new challenge for me. That being said I've created a new character, modified their stats and whatnot. Now I want to add several perks. One being: runs incredibly fast. I've taken care of that. 

Now for the second perk: I want to make it so the followers with them have a longer loyalty time.

inst.components.follower:AddLoyaltyTime(240)

Now with my basic lack of understanding I know this is the basic loyalty time of half a day.  I tried just putting this line in the characters prefab file under

inst.components.locomotor.walkspeed = (6)
inst.components.locomotor.runspeed = (10)