Where to start with modding?

I have played Don't Starve for a long time, and now I want to make some of my own content. 

I have some experience with Lua, mainly with the LOVE 2d base.

I would eventually like to get around to making every type of possible mod, such as interface, itemarrow-10x10.png, mobs, characters, and other things like that. 

If you would be kind enough, I would like you to help a person. To make mods. I just need a starting point, and a guideline, and how certain things work.

~Thankarrow-10x10.png you

-Doc Scratch (edgy5)

I'd recommend starting with the Extended Character Template by Dleowolf.  That's where I started!

Making a custom character feels like a good way to start out, since you can immediately test it out by controlling the character directly when you start up the game.

Start by just subscribing to the mod and starting it up, then 1 step at a time, make adjustments and see what happens.  Here's something I recommend.

In the modmain.lua of the Extended Character Template put this at the bottom

--[ [GLOBAL.CHEATS_ENABLED = trueGLOBAL.require( 'debugkeys' )--]]

I have these in any mod that I'm actively working on, the -[ [ can get the space removed to comment them out when you want them turned off.

The main debug key you want to work with is CTRL + R.  Which will reload all of your edited lua scripts so you can see their changes immediately, this way you can see when a change you made causes a lua error to occur as well.

Another great way to get into modding is through using console.

With the way lua works, you can make changes through the console and actually create a mod entirely through using console commands while in game (some limitations apply)