Was heat buffed?

Maz

Was heat made a LOT harder? I haven't played RoG in about 3-4 months, and when I did I got to day 31 and died. I stopped playing Don't Starve in general due to real life issues, and when I got DST I started playing again.

Today I decided to do RoG games again. I started my first one, got 40 of each material and travelled around like I did in my past RoG games. I ran through a desert, which I knew were hot, so i made sure to sprint through it.

Little did I know that I would start dying of heat after less than a day in the desert. I found an icebox and a chest and got 15 ice while avoiding pigs (I was Webber), but I was still dying. If I was starting to take damage I would eat some ice. Still not even night (I started burning maybe around a quarter through a day cycle), all of my ice was gone. I shaded under trees, and then kept moving, but after 10 seconds I would burn again. I spent half the night by a fire (my mistake) and then quickly used my torch and ran away to a tree once I started burning. 

Still burning every 5 seconds, I found a wormhole. I thought maybe I would go into an autumn biome or something, considering the one I was in on day 2 was long gone. I went through, and I was in a rock biome. All ice except for one was melted, and I was dying. Mined the ice, only stopped damage for 2 seconds, then I burned to death. I was being heated for a full day until I finally died. I respawned at a touch stone, but quit and deleted my world, I was done with RoG. I asked my friend on skype and he said it never hit him that hard.

Was this intentional, or did it put me in summer or something?

I found an icebox and a chest

The Icebox and Chest you found were

a set piece trap that starts Summer the moment you open it.