[HELP] Reducing a Characters Work Speed

Hello, I am a bit new to the Don't Starve modding scene. However, I have both java and c# coding experience. I have also programmed basic games in both. I am currently working on creating a character missing who is missing his arm. Due to this I was going to make his work speed, chopping wood, gathering, mining, etc., to be slower than normal.

I first looked at Woodie's lua file, but his increased chop speed seems to be based off Lucy's effectiveness instead. I then decided to look at different files and came up with an idea to try to reduce a tool's effectiveness, whenever the character picks it up. However, that seemed to crash the game. It also brought to my mind the possible error of reducing the effectiveness every time it is picked up causing it to become useless. I assume the reason it crashed was because a tool's effectiveness cannot be reduced below 1 or I simply coded it badly, still new to lua and the games engine. 

My second attempt was to instead reduce the characters power behind each swing rather than their speed. I created a function that was similar to woodie's added beaverness per chop, that instead added half a hit to the tree's hits left. This didn't crash the game, but the tree simply didn't ever get chopped down. 

I would like to see if there is a way to do this and if their is if I could get some help. Out of all the stats, that the character has so far this is the first to give me a problem. Just in case anyone is interested in who this character might be. He is a character from another popular media and his name is Rick. Also, sorry if my grammar is subpar. Math, computers, and logic are the things I enjoy.

TL;DR

Need help reducing chop, mining, gather speed for a character.