Does anyone here finding RoG a lot more difficult to play? Or I'm just a noob :P

Karnkate

My 700 days of survival in the original version is nothing.

I can't get past 60 days in the RoG version yet.

First try (35days)- Deerclops smashed my base and I'm frozen to death.

Second try (60days)-Summer burns all of my stuff.

Third try (37days)- Deerclops again. This time killed all of my Beefalos in existence (RIP). This one is the most frustrating because I got Ice Flingomatic, racks, and everything ready already :(

On the plus side.... at least I have lots of EXP to unlock characters :(.

The new content definitely makes it harder. But that was the point!

Best advise I can give you would be to start in autumn. That way, your somewhat used to the game, at least for now.

When you get the warning for a giant, stop what your doing and run! Giants spawn more reliably than the vanilla version. Unless your somewhat ready for them, they'll make quick work of you or your base or your food supply.

Make seasonal clothing before you need it. As you probably know already, autumn is the vanilla summer so it gives you a chance to get your feet a little wet and explore. Each season has its own challenges and ways of dealing with them. Clothing is the best way, imo.

Turn off some of the features that are giving you trouble until you get used to the new mechanics, then turn them on and see what you've been missing!

I had problems with the summer fires and frog rain so I turned them off until I lasted the year. Then turned them back on and wished I didn't! But the second time I got used to it and now they're no problem.

Before you know, you'll be back to surviving over 700 days with all the new content and you'll be loving it, just like me!

The new content definitely makes it harder. But that was the point!

Best advise I can give you would be to start in autumn. That way, your somewhat used to the game, at least for now.